e

December 2017

"The hilarious yet poignant work featured Leigh Barrett as Madame Flo and the irreplaceable Will McGarrahan as the ivory tickler whose affectionate commingling of horror and admiration allowed us to see the Muse-murdering Jenkins as both ridiculous and somehow valorous." - Souvenir "Director Scott Edmiston presided over this pitch-perfect, period-perfect revival of Edward Albee’s 1962 marathon marital battle whose combatants

“Lyrically witty, musically rich!” — the Guardian

Road Show

Music and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim Book by John Weidman Directed by Spiro Veloudos Co-Directed and Choreographed by Ilyse Robbins Music Director, Jonathan Goldberg  January 12 – February 11, 2018 On his continuing journey through the works of Stephen Sondheim, director Spiro Veloudos brings us Sondheim’s latest work, Road Show, the true boom-and-bust story of two of the most colorful and outrageous fortune-seekers in American history. From the Alaskan Gold Rush to the Florida real estate boom in the 1930s, entrepreneur Addison Mizner and his fast-talking brother Wilson were proof positive that the road to the American Dream is often a seductive, treacherous tightrope walk.

Home for the Holidays: Bluegrass & Broadway

Lyric Stage Favorite Erica Spyres Singing & Fiddlin’

December 22, 2017 l 8pm Lyric Stage Company of Boston “Erica Spyres proves, yet again, she can do anything!” — Boston Metro “Performed with a shiver-down-your-spine delicacy by Spyres!” — The Boston Globe “Spyres is out of this world!” — WBUR Lyric Stage audiences have been dazzled by Erica Spyres in such productions as Company, Peter and the Starcatcher, Into the Woods, Avenue Q, Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?, Big River,  and more! Now enjoy Erica and friends in an intimate cabaret about an actor’s life, auditioning, the joy of landing a role, and life on the road, with a bit of Holiday cheer thrown in!  Erica Spyres — from the LYRIC STAGE to the national tour of ONCE and the new Broadway revival of CAROUSEL — home again for one night only!

“A sweet love letter of a play!” — NY Times “Devastating and devastatingly funny.” – The Village Voice

Souvenir

A FANTASIA ON THE LIFE OF FLORENCE FOSTER JENKINS

by Stephen Temperley Directed by Spiro Veloudos Music Director, Will McGarrahan October 20 — November 19, 2017 Spiro Veloudos remounts one of his favorite productions in celebration of his 20 years as Producing Artistic Director.  Souvenir is an affectionate portrait of Florence Foster Jenkins, one of the finest coloratura sopranos in history — but, alas, only in her own mind!  Despite being called "majestically awful," her concerts in the 1930s and '40s, including a legendary appearance at Carnegie Hall, were not only sold-out but were attended by the crème de la crème of Manhattan society. Told affectionately through the eyes of her longtime accompanist  Cosmé McMoon, Souvenir is the sweet, inspiring, hilarious portrait of a passionate music lover who believed that "what matters most is the music you hear in your head."

“The greatest of all American musicals!”  — NY Times

Gypsy

A MUSICAL FABLE

Book and Lyrics by Arthur Laurents Music by Jule Styne Lyrics by Stephen Sondheim Directed and Choreographed by Rachel Bertone Music Director, Dan Rodriguez Suggested by memoirs of Gypsy Rose Lee Original production by David Merrick & Leland Hayward Entire production originally directed and choreographed by Jerome Robbins  September 1 — October 8, 2017  “Everything’s Coming up Roses” in this classic musical based on the memoirs of burlesque mega-star, Gypsy Rose Lee, and her stage-mother, the iconic Mama Rose.  In the tradition of My Fair Lady, Avenue Q, and Into the Woods, Gypsy will once again prove that the intimate Lyric Stage is the perfect place to experience the very best of the American musical theatre, especially the work of the brilliant Stephen Sondheim.

You can use the SpotHero parking reservation app to book convenient and affordable parking in nearby garages. To reserve your parking spot today, visit The Lyric Stage Parking Page and book a spot with rates up to 50% off drive-up. New to SpotHero? Download the SpotHero iPhone | Android app and enter promo code LYRICSTAGE for an extra $5 off your first park!  Please note that you must book